How to Suppress Task Sequence Notifications

In this post, we will learn how to suppress the Task Sequence Notifications. This feature is available under the advanced tab of SCCM task sequences properties.

I was once asked if it is possible to deploy an upgrade task sequence without notifications? My first question was why ? Why do you want to hide the task sequence notifications when it is important for users.

The answer I got was bit surprising. The requirement was to deploy an in-place upgrade task sequence to a group of computers with no notifications on client computers. This was required to prevent users from manually upgrading the operating system.

Moreover the organization didn’t want their users to see this notification and begin the in-place upgrade during their work hours. I am not sure if this is the right decision but yes, there is an option to hide the notifications from the task sequence properties.

Yes, when you suppress the notifications for task sequence, the new software is available toast notification is hidden on client computers. However you still see the New software icon from Software Center in the notification area.

By default, the option to suppress the TS notifications is disabled. That’s because generally, you would want users to see the latest deployments available on their computer.

You can enable this option after you create a new task sequence in SCCM. I haven’t the option to suppress the notifications while creating the TS.

Enable Suppress Task Sequence Notifications

You can enable Suppress Task Sequence notifications with following steps.

  • Launch the SCCM Console.
  • Go to Software Library\Overview\Operating Systems\Task Sequences.
  • Right click a task sequence and select Properties.
  • Select Advanced tab and enable Suppress Task Sequence notifications.
How to Suppress Task Sequence Notifications
How to Suppress Task Sequence Notifications

Click Apply and OK to save the changes done to the task sequence. To hide the task sequence notifications, you have to manually make the changes to every task sequence.

When you deploy this task sequence to the client computers, the popup/toast notification that a new TS is available to the machine is not shown.